FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Back to site

MAF on an M4

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    EFI University Forum Index -> MoTeC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bmw e30



Joined: 21 May 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Jan 31, 2014 1:22 pm    Post subject: MAF on an M4 Reply with quote

Talked to tech support here in UK and asked about using a Ford Maf sensor on an M4 unit with a 0-5v output but the guy seems to think the only options are to use MAP or TPS for load.
Has anyone managed it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pantera EFI



Joined: 12 Feb 2005
Posts: 1718
Location: So. California

PostPosted: Sat Feb 01, 2014 10:11 am    Post subject: MAF=MAP Reply with quote

When the Hitachi MAF sensor was first available from a Ford dealer parts counter in the 1990's, I found the BEST working MAF sensor for about $100.
We won a SEMA award in 1994 for the first EFI kit (Jeep) that was 50 state legal.
That choice was for easy calibration when used at MANY different altitudes.
The best choice for a "Pikes Peak" racer.

Your case using the M4 could work easily by using the many tables for AUX inputs.
My guess is MAP/MAF into AUX, then AUX/TPS for main fuel/advance strategy.
Another Hitachi feature is the MANY custom sensor mounts for correct flow sizing.

I also suggest contacting Shane T. for the BEST MOTEC tech support.
He is the one who taught Richard B. how the control the MOTEC coil dwell
in 3-D that would allow coil output to change with Boost Level measurement.

Lance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
stevieturbo



Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 1235
Location: Norn Iron

PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 9:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Or if in the UK, contact Dave Rowe
_________________
got blown

9.85 @ 144.75mph
202mph standing mile
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XgWRCDtiTQ0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Adam



Joined: 02 Dec 2011
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Sun Feb 02, 2014 11:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MAF with an M4 is easy and works fine - assuming you are using one of the more recent firmwares such as 6.xx.
Since your MAF is 0-5V you can connect it to either the map input or the Aux V input. Under >general setup >main setup >efficiency calc method, set this to #5(MAF) or #6(MAF AuxV) depeding on which of those inputs you decide to use.
If you have calibration data for the MAF you can also use that to set up the efficiency scale to read in units that are meaningful to you by using the "load sites selection" setting and the "site setup" menu. If you dont have calibration data then probably easiest just to set the efficiency scale to 0-100%.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmw e30



Joined: 21 May 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2014 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks guys for all the information you have shared, most appreciated.
Think will give it a go using the AUX V input and keep the map input for baro compensation.

Thanks...........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keithmac



Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Posts: 233

PostPosted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you need Baro compensation with a MAF setup?, I was told it wasn't necessary a while back?.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmw e30



Joined: 21 May 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 3:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you are correct that the baro compensation "shouldnt" be needed with a mass air flow measurement.
Have been looking at the Motec software and in the AUX voltage table the range goes from 0 revs up to a max of 5000 revs is there any way of extending or rearranging the table to take it to say 8000?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adam



Joined: 02 Dec 2011
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2014 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Firstly the aux volt table has nothing to do with RPM and secondly you shouldn't even need to set the aux volt cal table unless you have some specific calibration data for your MAF and you want the fuel map to read in correct units.
The RPM range for the fuel map is set up under >site setup> RPM sites 20 or RPM site 40. I would suggest you only use the 20 sites for MAF since the map will be very flat anyhow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bmw e30



Joined: 21 May 2012
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Feb 17, 2014 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for clearing that one up, Just couldnt quite get my head round it after seeing that table.
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    EFI University Forum Index -> MoTeC All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group

©2007 EFI University
Website designed and maintained by 3LizardsMedia.com